Findmall.com

Firearms Hunting

Welcome! Log In Register
Heads up on Lee Pro 1000 reloaders
Posted by: coyotewhacker
Date: February 16, 2007 05:23PM
I don't know how many of you guys reload ammo, but I have been stuffing cases since 1975 or so. Suffice to say that I have been in the game long enough to be able to separate the wheat from the chaff.
Thirty or forty thousand rounds can do that for a fella. Anyway, I got a Lee Pro 1000 progressive loader a couple of years ago to speed up production of the handgun ammo I reloaded and shot....38 Spl, .357 Mag, and .40 S&W. The damned thing NEVER worked all the time. It would have a good day now and then, and a "good day" was 85% useable ammo coming out of the chute. A normal day was something in the 60% range. Much of the problem is the plastic primer feed that is just plain cheap crap. Lee's answer to the problem:"Well, sir, if you sand it the primers won't stick and turn up on edge." My answer back was:
"If you went to the trouble to make the fxxxxing thing out of something other than cheap plastic we would not be having this one sided conversation." Fast forward two years: I replaced the small primer system with a BRAND NEW, NEVER BEEN USED, FACTORY SEALED